Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Biographies Results Past Elections Voter Education
Curaçao General Election Results - 19 October 2012
Parliament Chamber, Curaçao

The Curaçao general election of 2012 was held on 19 October 2012.  Early elections for the Curaçao island council were necessary as the Cabinet-Schotte lost its majority in the Estates of Curaçao. The elections were the first of the Curaçao after obtaining the status of country (Dutch: land) within the Kingdom of the Netherlands upon the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 2010. The election saw six parties obtain one or more of the 21 seats, with Sovereign People and Movement for the Future of Curaçao both winning five.

The Schotte-cabinet relied on a majority of 11 out of 21 seats in the Estates (the parties Movementu Futuro Korsou (MFK), Pueblo Soberano (PS) and Movishon Antia Nobo (MAN)). When Eugene Cleopa (MAN) and MFK parliamentary leader Dean Rozier decided to leave their fraction, and to stay in the Estates as an individual party, the Cabinet lost its majority. The move of Cleopa and Rozier was a result of problematic relationship with the Netherlands and charges of corruption and nepotism of the Scholte government.

The elections were supervised by observers from Aruba, Sint Maarten, Trinidad and Tobago and the Dominican Republic.

Electoral System

The 21 members of the Estates are elected by proportional representation. Parties that won seats in the previous elections are allowed to participate, whilst primary elections are held to determine which other parties can run, with parties required to receive the equivalent of 1% of the vote at the previous elections in order to participate.

Political Parties

Eight Parties participated in the elections: Pueblo Soberano (PS), Partido Democraat (DP), Partido Alternativa Real (PAR), Partido MAN, Partido Nashonal di Pueblo (PNP), Frente Obrero Liberashon 30 di mei (FOL), Movementu Futuro Kòrsou (MFK) and Partido pa Adelanto i Inovashon Soshal (PAIS). The lists of these parties were approved by the Hoofdkiesraad.(English: main election council).


Based on these results, PS, MFK and MAN (the 2010 coalition parties) had a majority in the estates, and decided to form a government. The parties signed a declaration to that effect (termed the Zeelandia declaration), while acting governor Adele van der Pluijm-Vrede appointed Glenn Camelia as "informateur" to advise her on a suitable majority government. MFK pulled out of negotiations on 28 October, stating unfavorable comments of PS-leader Wiels on radio as the cause. A majority was formed based on PS, PAIS, PNP and Glenn Sulvaran (who had left PAR to become an independent member of parliament), which formed an interim cabinet led by Daniel Hodge.

The interim cabinet was succeeded by the cabinet-Asjes on 7 June 2013.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 74.82%.

System Proportional representation
Elected Members 21 members
Total Valid Votes 87,058
Total Invalid Votes 370
Total Votes Cast 87,428
Registered Voters 116,857
Voter Turnout 74.82%
PARTY MANIFESTOS View all Members of Parliament of Barbados
PAIS 2012 Manifesto
PAR 2012 Manifesto
  Party Code Votes Seats
Total % votes Number Change
Sovereign People PS 19,715 22.6% 5 +1
Movement for the Future of Curaçao MFK 18,450 21.2% 5 -
Party for the Restructured Antilles PAR 17,179 19.7% 4 -4
Partido pa Adelanto I Inovashon Soshal PAIS 15,286 17.7% 4 +4
Partido MAN MAN 8,294 9.5% 2 -
National People's Party PNP 5,130 5.9% 1 -
Party Workers' Liberation Front 30th of May FOL 1,790 2.1% 0 -1
Democratic Party + Labour Party People's Crusade DP + L 1,127 1.3% 0 -
  Total Valid Votes   87,028 100% 21 -
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1995
   General Election Results 1999
   General Election Results 2003
   General Election Results 2007
   General Election Results 2010
   General Election Results 2012
   General Election Results 2016
   General Election Results 2017
Real Alternative Party
Partido MAN
Movement for the Future of Curaçao
Kòrsou di Nos Tur
Partido Inovashon Nashonal
Sovereign People
Movementu Progresivo
Download MFK 2017 Manifesto
Download PAR 2017 Manifesto
Download PIN 2017 Manifesto
Download PNP 2017 Manifesto
Download Curaçao Knowledge Centre
Learn more Curaçao Governors
Learn more Curaçao Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Supreme Electoral Council of Curaçao
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2018 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us