Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Conrad Maduro
Conrad Antonio Maduro
Former Leader of the Opposition of the British Virgin Islands

Conrad Antonio Maduro is a politician and a former Leader of the Opposition of the British Virgin Islands.


Maduro has contested more general elections in the British Virgin Islands than any other politician except for Lavity Stoutt and Ralph T. O'Neal, contesting 10 general elections between (and including) the 1967 general election and the 2003 general election, winning four times. Including by-elections, Conrad Maduro has contested 11 elections in total; equaling the record held jointly by Lavity Stoutt and Ralph O'Neal.

In the 1967 general election, Maduro as President led the United Party to victory, but lost his individual seat to Isaac Glanville Fonseca. As he was not elected, Lavity Stoutt was appointed Chief Minister in his stead. In the subsequent 1971 general election, Maduro would win his seat, but the United Party lost power.

In the 1975 general election, the United Party once again won the general election, but Maduro lost his seat. However, as the party formed a coalition with Willard Wheatley, the incumbent Chief Minister, it is highly unlikely Maduro would have been appointed Chief Minister even if he had won.

In the 1983 general election, the United Party won the general election, and Maduro won his seat. However, the party again needed to form a coalition, and formed it with Cyril Romney with Cyril Romney becoming Chief Minister.

After the 1983 general election, he formed part of the coalition government and served as Minister for Natural Resurces and Public Health. He also performed the same Ministerial role as an opposition politician between 1972 and 1975 when Dr Q.W. Osborne was removed from his ministerial post in 1972.

In 1986, he won election in the 2nd District over Prince Stoutt by just a single vote, which is tied for the record for the narrowest margin of victory in a British Virgin Islands election. His victory with just 92 votes is also a record for the smallest number of votes for a victorious candidate.

From 1988 to 1990, he served as the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council of the British Virgin Islands.

Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Occupation Politician
Place of Birth British Virgin Islands
Notable Accomplishments
Leader of the Oppostion of the BVI: 1988 - 1990
British Virgin Islands
Leaders of the Opposition of the BVI
United Party (UP)

 Caribbean Leaders
 Caribbean Nobel Laureates
 Women in Caribbean Politics
 National Heroes
 Order of the Caribbean Community Recipients
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us