Caribbean Elections Home HOME  •  ELECTIONS  •  EDUCATION  •  KNOWLEDGE  • NEWS  •  SEARCH  •  STORE
Connect with us on Facebook Connect with us on Twitter Connect with us on Digg Connect with us on LinkedIn Connect with us on YouTube Connect with us on RSS
 Caribbean Elections St. Vincent and the Grenadines

St. Vincent and the Grenadines Elections Home

Political Parties
Information on major political parties

Information on the 15 constituencies

Profiles of the 2010 candidates

2010 Results
Detailed results of 2010 general elections

Past Elections
Results of previously held elections

Learning Resources
Resources for public, students, and teachers
 New Democratic Party (NDP)
2010 Resources
2010 Manifesto
2010 Candidates
2010 Media
 Official Web Site
 NDP on Facebook
 NDP on Twitter
Arnhim Eustace

Leader: Arnhim EUSTACE

Founded: 1975


The New Democratic Party was given birth officially in Kingstown, St. Vincent & the Grenadines on 3rd December 1975. The then leader was James Fitz-Allen Mitchell commonly referred to by his peers as “Son Mitchell”.

In 1979 the New Democratic Party contested the general elections, the same year that La. Soufriere Volcano had its last major eruption. The public awarded the NDP with two seats in our then 13 seat parliament.

Five years later the NDP romped home with nine (9) of the thirteen (13) seats, making Mitchell this country’s second Prime Minister. By way of a bye –election, when then Labour Party leader Hon. Robert Milton Cato closed the last chapter of his political book; the NDP gained an additional seat advantage.

For four consecutive terms the New Democratic Party succeeded at the polls. So far the NDP has been the first and only political party in St. Vincent & the Grenadines to win all seats in national elections.

The development of the tourism industry has been one of the major pillars of economic development for St. Vincent & the Grenadines spearheaded by the New Democratic Party.

When the NDP embarked upon the land reform/distribution programme which placed lands into the hands of the landless, our economic growth spiralled.

When Sir James Mitchell, as he is now called, departed elective politics Hon. Arnhim Ulric Eustace was elected President of the NDP and took over as this country’s third Prime Minister.



    arrow Unity Labour Party
    arrow New Democratic Party
    arrow SVG Green Party
List of Registering Officers
List of Returning Officers
Code of Conduct
ULP Unity Labour Party (ULP)
NDP New Democratic Party (NDP)
SVG Green Party SVG Green Party
IND Independent (IND)
winner declared key Winner Declared
Connect with us on Facebook Connect with us on Twitter Connect with us on Digg Connect with us on LinkedIn Connect with us on YouTube Connect with us on RSS
  • Facebook Activity
  • Twitter Activity
Connect with us on Facebook RECENT FACEBOOK ACTIVITY
Connect with us on Twitter RECENT TWITTER ACTIVITY
Visit our virtual store
Caribbean Elections

Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. This portal includes election data and resources for the public, students, and researchers. Learn more »

Caribbean Elections
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2011 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us