Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Political Parties Constituencies Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 24 March 1975

The ruling Dominica Labour Party (DLP) gained a landslide victory in the general elections held on 24 March 1975.  The DLP won 16 seats in the 21-seat house of assembly.  Candidates from Dominica’s three opposition parties and independents, despite winning approximately 45% of the popular vote, fared badly in voting.  The principal opposition party, the Dominica Freedom Party (DFP), won only three seats while the remaining two seats were won by independents.  The Caribbean Federal Party (CFP) and the Progressive Labour Party (PLP) failed to win any seats.  Voter turnout in the election was high at 79.0% and the elections were conducted in a fair and honest manner.

The only two candidates running out of eight DLP members of the house elected in 1970, Premier John and Education Minister H.L. Christian, retained their seats.  Among the more prominent newly elected DLP members of the house were former Speaker of the House Eustace H. Francis, Michael Douglas, and DLP Vice President J. Oliver Seraphine.

Opposition leader in the house Anthony Moise and newcomer A. Anthony Casimir won seats as expected, but former member of the house R.  Stanley Fadelle was defeated in an upset victory by DLP candidate Luke Cornette.  Unofficial leader of the DFP Mary Eugenia Charles won a surprise victory over her DLP opponent by a large margin of 200 votes.

The Progressive Labour Party (PLP) failed to win any seats despite having been heavily favoured to win at least two of the eight seats it was contesting.  Both PLP chairman Jenner B.M.  Armour and Carib Indian Chief Macclem C. Frederick lost their races to their respective DLP opponents, Randolph Bannis and Lawrence Darroux.  Darroux is the first Carib Indian ever elected to the Dominican House of Assembly.  PLP founder Ronald O.P. Armour, former Leblanc protégé and Deputy Premier, lost his deposit in the race for the Newtown seat won by the DLP's Francis.

The Caribbean Federal Party likewise failed to win a seat.  Independents also fared poorly as only two of the eleven running won seats.  Pattison "Pat" A.S. Stevens and Conrad W. Cyrus were elected to the house as expected, but other independents regarded as strong candidates, for example, alleged MND member Eloi Sylvester and union leader Charles A. Savarin were defeated by their DLP opponents, Michael Douglas and Romanus Bannis.

Total Valid Votes 21,338
Invalid Votes 1,769
Total Votes Cast 23,107
Population 72,000
Voting Age Population 33,984
Registered Voters 29,266
Voter Turnout 78.96%
Critical Dates
Dissolution of Parliament Nomination Day Polling Day
Thursday, 13 February 1975 Friday, 7 March 1975 Monday, 24 March 1975
Summary by Party
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
Dominica Labour Party DLP 10,523 49.32% 21 16
Dominica Freedom Party DFP 6,920 32.43% 16 3
Progressive Labour Party PLP 897 4.20% 8 0
Caribbean Federal Party CFP 119 0.56% 6 0
Independents IND 2,879 13.49% 11 2
Total Valid Votes 21,338 100% 62 21
Election in Graphs
Expand graph
Expand graph
Expand graph Expand graph
Summary by Constituency
Constituency Registered Voters Total Votes Voter Turnout
Canefield 898 718 79.96%
Castle Bruce 1,233 994 80.62%
Colihaut 825 685 83.03%
Cottage 900 756 84.00%
Goodwill 2,717 1,995 73.43%
Grand Bay 1,502 1,127 75.03%
La Plaine 1,052 801 76.14%
Mahaut 1,733 1,490 85.98%
Marigot 1,327 905 68.20%
Morne Jaune/Riviere Cyrique 639 578 90.45%
Newtown 2,084 1,566 75.14%
Paix Bouche 932 798 85.62%
Petite Savanne 1,104 932 84.42%
Portsmouth 1,337 1,159 86.69%
Roseau 2,893 1,961 67.78%
Salisbury 1,246 1,014 81.38%
Salybia 738 574 77.78%
St. Joseph 1,602 1,365 85.21%
Soufriere 1,935 1,532 79.17%
Vieille Case 1,113 920 82.66%
Wesley 1,456 1,228 84.34%
Total 29,266 23,098 78.92%
Elected Members of the House of Assembly
The Dominica House of Assembly has 32 members, 21 members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies, 9 appointed senators, the Speaker and 1 ex-officio member.
Constituency Representative   Party
Canefield James Oliver SERAPHINE   Dominica Labour Party
Castle Bruce Romanus BANNIS   Dominica Labour Party
Colihaut Ferdinand F. PARILLON   Dominica Labour Party
Cottage Culand DUBOIS   Dominica Labour Party
Goodwill Patrick R JOHN   Dominica Labour Party
Grand Bay Avon Anthony CASIMIR   Dominica Freedom Party
La Plaine Henckell L. CHRISTAIN   Dominica Labour Party
Mahaut Victor RIVIERE   Dominica Labour Party
Marigot Pattison A.S STEVENS   Independent
Morne Jaune/Riviere Cyrique Conrad W. CYRUS   Independent
Newtown Eustace H. FRANCIS   Dominica Labour Party
Paix Bouche Randolph BANNIS   Dominica Labour Party
Petite Savanne Luke T. CORRIETTE   Dominica Labour Party
Portsmouth Michael A..DOUGLAS   Dominica Labour Party
Roseau Mary Eugenia CHARLES   Dominica Freedom Party
Salisbury B.J. LOUIS   Dominica Labour Party
Salybia Lawrence DARROUX   Dominica Labour Party
St. Joseph Isaiah A.THOMAS   Dominica Labour Party
Soufriere Anthony MOISE   Dominica Freedom Party
Vieille Case Eden BOWERS   Dominica Labour Party
Wesley Osbourne N. THEODORE   Dominica Labour Party
DLP = Dominica Labour Party; UWP = United Workers Party; IND = Independent Candidate; *incumbent; ** Political Leader
Electoral Office of the Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
 General Election 1951
 General Election 1954
 General Election 1957
 General Election 1961
 General Election 1966
 General Election 1970
 General Election 1975
 General Election 1980
 General Election 1985
 General Election 1990
 General Election 1995
 General Election 2000
 General Election 2005
 General Election 2009
 General Election 2014
DLP Dominica Labour Party
UWP United Workers Party
Independent Candidates Independent Candidates
Download Dominica Labour Party 2014
Download United Workers Party 2014
Download Dominica Knowledge Centre
Learn more Dominica Heads of State
Learn more Dominica Heads of Government
Learn more Dominica Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us